Monde Flottant / Floating World
Exhibition room at ISBA, Besançon, 2008

1 / 6

Monde Flottant / Floating World
Exhibition room at ISBA, Besançon, 2008

2 / 6

Monde Flottant / Floating World
Exhibition room at ISBA, Besançon, 2008

3 / 6

Monde Flottant / Floating World
Exhibition room at ISBA, Besançon, 2008

4 / 6

Monde Flottant / Floating World
Exhibition room at ISBA, Besançon, 2008

5 / 6

MONDE FLOTTANT / FLOATING WORLD

Installation consisting of 14 sheets of nonwoven Tyvek, each measuring 1m70 x 3m; ink on silk papers and Japanese paper /2008 / variable dimensions

A meditational progress, this installation offers the visitor walking round it a diversity of points of view and images, that assume and change their shape with each step and with the shifting light, giving him/her the chance to draw from inside him/herself the images to be cast on to the screen. At once a projection and an unveiling of interiority, “I am what I see”, as Alexandre Hollan writes: I see what I am.

Placed at mid-height, these sheets occupy the place of mist, between heaven and earth, between the liquid world and the world of gases, between water and rock. This unmeasurable space opens the gaze to transformation, to a change of state induced by imagination and dream.

This is the space of dreaming, reverie, that “state of the soul”, Ă©tat d’ñme, according to Gaston Bachelard (in PoĂ©tique de la rĂȘverie, PUF, 1960) which allows a “broadening of our consciousness” and “brings us into the world”.

This installation reflects too what François Jullien has written:

“Between the poles of the near and the distant, a landscape is simultaneously appearing-disappearing, bringing-taking away, imposing itself and escaping. Without therefore allowing a “presence” to find a fixed point within it, without allowing any “essence” to be identified, (
) with no labelling which can immobilize it, and therefore no possible ontology. It is like a wave swelling and breaking, absorbing the gaze, every kind of gaze, in this telluric movement of advance and retreat: in this alternation, the landscape mobilizes; in this coming-and-going, this ebb-and-flow, it invites us to breathe.” (François Jullien, Vivre de paysage ou l’impensĂ© de la raison, Gallimard, 2014, p. 80.)

This installation was presented for the DNSEP (DiplĂŽme National SupĂ©rieur d’Expression Plastique in 2008 at ISBA, and in 2009 at the Town Hall of Ornans (Doubs, France).

6 / 6

Monde Flottant
Salle d'exposition de l'ISBA à Besançon, 2008

1 / 6

Monde Flottant
Salle d'exposition de l'ISBA à Besançon, 2008

2 / 6

Monde Flottant
Salle d'exposition de l'ISBA à Besançon, 2008

3 / 6

Monde Flottant
Salle d'exposition de l'ISBA à Besançon, 2008

4 / 6

Monde Flottant
Salle d'exposition de l'ISBA à Besançon, 2008

5 / 6

MONDE FLOTTANT

Installation / 14 pans de Tyvek non-tissé de 1m70 x 3m, encres sur papiers de soie et papier japon / 2008 / dimensions variables.

DĂ©ambulation mĂ©ditative, elle offre au visiteur par la marche une diversitĂ© de points de vue et d'images qui se font et se dĂ©font au rythme des pas, de la lumiĂšre qui bouge, et qui lui donnent l'opportunitĂ© de puiser Ă  l'intĂ©rieur de lui-mĂȘme les images qu'il projette sur cet Ă©cran. A la fois projection et dĂ©voilement d'une intĂ©rioritĂ© : « Je suis ce que je vois », Ă©crit Alexandre Hollan ; je vois ce que je suis.

PlacĂ©s Ă  mi-hauteur, ces pans occupent l'espace de la brume, entre ciel et terre, entre monde liquide et monde gazeux, entre eau et roche. Cet espace non-mesurable ouvre le regard Ă  la transformation, au changement d’état induits par l’imagination et le rĂȘve.

Espace de rĂȘverie, « état d’ñme », selon Gaston Bachelard (dans La PoĂ©tique de la rĂȘverie, PUF, 1960), qui permet « un Ă©largissement de la conscience » et qui nous «  met au monde ».

Cette installation trouve un écho dans les propos de François Jullien :

« Entre les pĂŽles du proche et du lointain, le paysage est Ă  la fois apparaissant-disparaissant, apportant-remportant, s’imposant et s’échappant. Sans donc que s’y laisse focaliser de la « prĂ©sence », sans que s’y laisse isoler de l’ « essence » (
) nulle assignation qui puise immobiliser donc nulle ontologie possible. Il est telle une onde qui s’étale et s’efface, enveloppant le regard, tout regard, dans ce mouvement tellurique d’avance et de retrait : ce paysage par cette alternance mobilise ; par cet aller-venir, dans cet influ-reflux, il donne Ă  respirer » (Vivre de paysage ou l’impensĂ© de la raison, François Jullien, Gallimard, 2014, p.80).

Installation prĂ©sentĂ©e au DNSEP (DiplĂŽme National SupĂ©rieur d’Expression Plastique) en 2008 Ă  l’ISBA, et en 2009 Ă  l’HĂŽtel de ville d’Ornans.

6 / 6